Senior Spotlight: Sara Canzano

by Amita Chauhan, Co-Editor-in-Chief

1. When and where were you born? Describe the kind of child you were.

I was born on October 14th, 1995 and have always lived in El Segundo. As a child, I was very shy around new people but would slowly open up. I was always curious to try new things and loved to just adventure around with friends to enjoy the simple things in life. I’d always have a friend over and we would run around outside and take advantage of the free time elementary school had. In school, I was that one kid that was a teacher’s pet and a goodie-two-shoes, but I just liked helping others out and help anyone who needed it. In class, I was frequently given a Character Award and elected as the student council member for my class. Through my academic career, I have remained a strong student and kept A’s up until sophomore year, but I wasn’t crushed, it’s high school.

IMG_3328

2. Do you have any siblings?

Nope, I’m an only child but my friends are like family to me and my two dogs would be the closest thing I suppose.

3. What was your favorite year of high school? Why?

Oh gosh, well each year has it’s perks, but I think either junior year or senior year takes the cake. My junior year wasn’t too stressful and my classes were manageable so it all worked out. Plus, the tennis season that year was great and we got to dye the coach’s hair blue for getting so far into CIF Playoffs. Senior year is great because the classes are more helpful for college and even though I have challenging classes, the workload isn’t too overbearing and my teachers are always willing to help out.

IMG_3326

4. What is one of your favorite memories of high school?

My favorite memory has to be Prom last year since the location was beautiful and it was just a nice evening with friends with all the activities and dancing.

IMG_3327

5. What are some of your extracurriculars and accomplishments?

Well, all through high school I was a Girls’ Tennis team member and that’s where met a lot of new friends. I would spend summer days out on the courts just having fun and working on my awful tan lines that never go away, but it’s sport where you can just play for fun with friends. I was Varsity level for three years and Captain for two. At the end of sophomore year, I started back up tennis fundraising after many years of nothing and it ran fairly successfully and hopefully it’ll be carried down for many years since sports aren’t cheap, especially Tennis. For my efforts and leadership, my coach gave me the Leadership Award and bad jokes, lots of bad jokes.

IMG_3656

6. How have you changed from freshman year to senior year? Were there any defining moments of your high school career?

Ah freshman year, how I don’t miss you so. That was a tough year for me but I learned a lot about myself and how people change which are important life lessons. Freshman year pushed me out of my comfort zone and showed me that I need to make myself happy too. As a senior, I know my limits and I’m honest with myself and others about how I feel, but how we could fix things too. I have definitely developed more problem solving methods that does not only blame one side exclusively and instead sorts pieces apart and arrive to the proper solution. But each year I’ve learned something new about myself and I can tell I’ve grown a lot, but there’s still more room to grow, I really haven’t tested my own wings on my own, but that’s what the rest of life has in store for me.

IMG_3401

7. What is your Senior Quote?

“I have learned, that if one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours.” -Henry David Thoreau (That’s some deep stuff).

8. Where are you going in the fall? What do you plan on majoring in?

Well here’s where things get a little complicated, but bear with me. I will be studying with Northeastern University located in Boston, but my first semester will be spent at the American College of Thessaloniki in Greece. SO I will be taking Northeastern courses for my major of Chemical Engineering in Greece and get to spend some time in that area and can tour other neighboring countries.

IMG_3227

9. What do you want to be when you grow up?

When I grow up, I just want to be happy. Someone very wise and dear to me told me that, and it all makes sense. When I grow up, I want to do something that makes me happy; a reason to smile and enjoy what I do. With finding a job that I like within the big umbrella of Chemcial Engineering, I want to find a job where I like going to work, even when it gets tough. I don’t need the biggest house or the fanciest car, I just want to live a simple life that makes me happy surrounded by people who care about me and that I care about.

10. Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Most likely, I’ll be back in sunny Southern California living in a quaint house and working a stable job with a company I met through some networking from my work experience terms through college. Maybe I’ll be married or maybe I won’t, who knows what the future holds :P

IMG_3527

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>