El Segundo Clinches League Title With Win Over Centennial

By Eric Chernick, Staff Writer

El Segundo’s Football Team stays undefeated in league play after an impressive win over Centennial High School.  El Segundo got off to a great start taking a quick 14-0 lead after Lars Nootbar scored a 5-yard rushing touchdown and then connected with Jamie Steward on a 60-yard touchdown pass.   However, Centennial fired back with a long touchdown pass of their own, then forced a safety and scored another touchdown, but due to a pair of missed extra points the game was only tied.  El Segundo then ended the half by driving down the field but settling for a field goal to take a 17-14 lead.

The second half started with El Segundo receiving the kickoff.  El Segundo drove down the field and Dathan Bailey finished off the drive with a 4-yard touchdown run.  The game then turned into a defensive battle as neither team scored in the remainder of the third quarter.  However,  with 6 minutes left in the fourth quarter, Centennial scored a touchdown to cut the lead down to 4.  Solid running by the duo of Dathan Bailey and Ryan Kelly helped El Segundo drive down the field, run down the clock, and come away with a field goal extending the lead to 7.  Centennial had two minutes left to try to steal the game from El Segundo.  Centennial started their drive well, converting three straight passes getting the ball to midfield.  However, that is where their luck would end, because Junior Joey Garza jumped the route of Centennial’s running back on the next play intercepting the ball and bringing it back for a touchdown, clinching the win.

This moved El Segundo to 4-0 in league and clinched the league title.  This means that El Segundo will probably have a home playoff game on November 15th.  Stay tuned for announcements to support your team in CIF playoffs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>